Goa Football | AWES Cup to kick-start on September 17

Goa Football: The Start of new Season

The Goan football witness a new tournament before the start of Goa Pro League.The tournament will eventually replace Goa Police Cup.

AWES Cup 2017 will be organised by Association for the well being of Elder Sportspersons (AWES) in a partnership of Dempo, Salgaoncar, Sporting Clube de Goa, HDFC Bank and Goa Football Association.

AWES is a new organisation started to assist the sporting greats from all sports in Goa.

This tournament will help in raising funds for the former footballers and sportsperson who are in need. The sole motto of the organisation is to support the sportsperson who have made the state proud who should be given some sort help in the shape of money.

Averton Futardo, a former Salgaoncar FC goalkeeper and Former MLA of Goa state assembly are the President of the organisation.

Format of the tournament

The tournament will kick off on 17 September at Duler Stadium. There are no tickets for the public to enter the stadium.

The teams divided into 4 groups. The winners of each group will face each other in semi-finals.

The winners of the tournament will take a prize money of  2 lakhs while the runners-up will get  1 lakh.The date-wise fixtures of the tournament are not drawn yet.The teams are divided into 4 groups.

The main attraction of the tournament will be the teams participating from outside Goa.

Teams like Gokulam FC, ONGC, Viva Chennai and FC Pune City will be participating in the tournaments besides FC Goa.

Dempo SC Jr.Other teams participating are Dempo SC, Salgaoncar FC, Sporting Clube de Goa, FC Bardez, Vasco SC and Calangute Association.

Teams in Groups:

Group A: Dempo, ONGC, Calangute Association.

Group B: Salgaocar, Viva Chennai, FC Goa.

Group C: FC Bardez, Pune City, Dempo Jrs.

Group D: Sporting Clube de Goa, Gokulam FC, Vasco Sports Club.

News Reporter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *